I Walk The Line

I love country music. It has been a dream of mine for as long as I can remember, to attend the CMA Music Festival, to listen to and be surrounded by all the great country singers. Throughout my life so far, I have many memories tied to country music.

My father loves country music, as well – I think that’s where it all began. He had a gramophone player and a whole collection of country music that I used to look at, listen to, and sing along to. I believe Johnny Cash was the first one I ever listened to and is still one of my favorites. Before I moved to San Francisco, I bought my first CD, it was Shania Twain’s “Up”. When I moved to Las Vegas years later, I wrote a short piece about Johnny Cash’s daughter – Rosanne Cash, coming to Laughlin for a concert. I wish I could have interviewed her and written a piece about her, how great would that be??

I have yet to fulfill my dream of attending the CMA, but I know I will. Until then, I will be raiding my father’s closet for his collection of country records and play them on my gramophone player.

Leave a Reply

